Is there an SLR with no viewfinder blackout?

Started 6 months ago | Questions
PhotomuseX
New MemberPosts: 6
Like?
Is there an SLR with no viewfinder blackout?
6 months ago

Hi there, I am a professional photog looking to further a personal project involving long exposures. I would like to track my subject throughout the exposure. Currently, viewfinder blackout does not allow me to maintain visual contact with my subject as I expose for 1 second or longer.

Does anyone know of an SLR that does not have any viewfinder blackout? I would greatly appreciate any recommendations.

Thank you!

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
D Cox
Senior MemberPosts: 6,974
Like?
Re: Is there an SLR with no viewfinder blackout?
In reply to PhotomuseX, 6 months ago

You could rent a Leica M. It's not an SLR, of course, but you do get continuous viewing.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
karl eller
Regular MemberPosts: 229Gear list
Like?

PhotomuseX wrote:

Hi there, I am a professional photog looking to further a personal project involving long exposures. I would like to track my subject throughout the exposure. Currently, viewfinder blackout does not allow me to maintain visual contact with my subject as I expose for 1 second or longer.

Does anyone know of an SLR that does not have any viewfinder blackout? I would greatly appreciate any recommendations.

Thank you!

An SLR? No, because that's how an SLR works: When not taking an exposure, light comes in through the lens, bounces off some mirrors and out the viewfinder. When taking an exposure, mirror flips up and light goes on to the film/sensor instead, and there's nothing showing in the viewfinder.

What you need is something that has an Electronic Viewfinder that will remain active during the exposure, so you probably need to look at some of the Mirrorless ILCs.

karl eller's gear list:karl eller's gear list