New MemberPosts: 3
Like?
Retouch Q- contrast/light?
8 months ago

I am new to retouching and I'm curious how to get a photo from

here

to here

via

Does the original photo need to have been taken in natural light, as the goal photo clearly is, or is it something that can be achieved through retouching?  Curious what y'all would do.

Note: original photo not taken to mimic goal photo, it just happened to match.  I'm a fan of this photographers work and would like to work to get my photos similar in style/lighting.  I use Gimp, but I also have photoshop elements.

Thanks in advance for your help!

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
swald
Regular MemberPosts: 105
Like?
Re: Retouch Q- contrast/light?
In reply to SoCalArtist, 8 months ago

Some basic retouching, but mostly just a change of color temperature (warmer).

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Jack Sofield
Senior MemberPosts: 2,121
Like?

This one has adjustments made in Portrait Professional only.

This one has my effort at color adjustment and then brush work only on the facial area.

-- hide signature --

Always teach for understanding, not agreement.
JC Sofield
www.pbase.com/jcsofield

SoCalArtist
New MemberPosts: 3
Like?
In reply to swald, 8 months ago

Great work- with the color temp, did you apply to the whole image at once, or do sections?  What basic retouching?  It looks like some skin smoothing- what tool did you use for that?  Also, it seems like there's light illuminating the face- was that a specific tool?  Thanks in advance for your advice.

drh681
Forum ProPosts: 11,391
Like?
perhaps start in the HDR toning dialog...

then a bit of bow curve, and a softening layer masked and faded to 66% opacity with a luminosity merge...

-- hide signature --

Photons by the bag.
Gravitons no longer shipped outside US or Canada
-----.....------
You got a camera, now go out and get a life; or at least a picture of one!

Allen Gerdes
Veteran MemberPosts: 5,120
Like?