Trying to choose btw G1 X ang G16?

Started 8 months ago | Discussions
lfk1
New MemberPosts: 1
Like?
Trying to choose btw G1 X ang G16?
8 months ago

I want to buy a new compact camera. I am not a pro, but from what I read in reviews, G1 X gives much better performance in low light situations, which is important for me. G16 on the other hand has features like a faster processor, WiFi etc. Most importantly, G1 X was released 2 years ago which makes me feel like I'm buying something old.

I'm also open to buying other brands such as Sony and Nikon.

Any help would be highly appreciated.

Canon PowerShot G1 X Canon PowerShot G16
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Rmark
Regular MemberPosts: 444Gear list
Like?
Re: Trying to choose btw G1 X ang G16?
In reply to lfk1, 8 months ago

I have had the G1x for about 18 months, and truly like it. However there is a bit of a learning curve to get he most from it. I don't find the focus all that slow, for a compact camera, and the lens is truly excellent. The high ISO performance is also impressive, you can shoot at ISO 6400 without any concern about noise.

However you have to learn to compensate for the lack of close focus , that means even for portraits at 3 feet you will need to activate the closeup function if you zoom even slightly. When using external flashes there is an annoying lag after shutter release, before the flash fires. Doesn't happen with the built in flash, which is not very powerful, and will drain the already low capacity battery.

But for DSLR level image quality, I don't think any other compact comes close to  the G1x. Its truly unique.

Carry extra batteries, remember to activate close focus early, use high Tv to stop action, and not rely on it to  focus quickly on moving subjects.

Rmark's gear list:Rmark's gear list