Please help me choose: 6D body only, lens kit or keep my money ?

Started 9 months ago | Polls
JLGW
New MemberPosts: 10Gear list
Like?
Please help me choose: 6D body only, lens kit or keep my money ?
9 months ago

TL;DR: Please answer the poll

Hello. Since this is my first post, a little self-introduction and background is in order

I'm a beginner who started photography a few months ago with a DSLR borrowed from a friend (a Canon 1000D with a 18-55 lens)

So far, I really enjoy photography and find myself going out more often, specifically to take pictures. Now the camera never leaves me when I'm going out on weekends/evenings.

I'm trying to shoot anything I can and try to find my style. So far, I've enjoyed mostly anything (nature, close-ups, people, city architecture etc). You can see some of my photos here

I decided I wanted to get my own camera and while there are many choices, I want a full-frame (really like landscapes, wide-angle shots etc) so my first choice would be the 6D.

I currently live in Japan and Canon is doing a promotional campaign until the 13th of January where they give back between 10000 and 20000 yens, depending on what you get (about 100 to 200 USD)

So I have a bit of a dilemma right now. Here are my options:

- body only for about $1390 USD ($1300 USD after MIR from Canon)

- 24-70 F4L IS lens kit for about $2223 USD ($2000 USD after MIR from Canon)

- 24-105 F4L IS lens kit for about $1965 USD ($1870 USD after MIR from Canon)

- keeping my money because spending so much at my level is overkill

I should also mention that if I go the body only option, I'd have to buy a lens as well as I currently don't own any.

I'm leaning towards either the 24-105 F4L lens kit (while shooting with my current camera, I found out I really lack some range) or...not buying at all.

I've added the 24-70 F4L because reviews of the lens put it higher than the 24-105 and it's only 130 USD more expensive.

Any comments ? Recommendations ?