Nikon colors in RAW

Started 7 months ago | Discussions
DeCorday
New MemberPosts: 22Gear list
Like?
Nikon colors in RAW
7 months ago

Not sure if this is the proper place for this question...

So I've been shooting a Nikon D200 for about 6 months now... easily put over 10k frames through the thing. I love it, it's bulletproof, but I'm already thinking of upgrading because the high ISO performance leaves so much to be desired. Also I'd like to go FX within the next year or two.

Here's the question: When I go through my old shots from my ancient D70s, I'm really taken with the colors, compared to the D200. This surprised me, as they are both CCD sensors. In the future, I'd love to get a camera with color akin to the D70. The D70 regularly puts out RAWS that come out of Lightroom with little to know post processing with colors like this:

or this:

or this:

When I look online for discussion of the D70's color, most people seem to find it too desaturated and look for more vivid cameras. Me, I love this and wish I could get images like this out of my D200.

The question is, if I'm looking to upgrade, what should I expect out of CMOS sensor RAWs, color-wise? further deviation from what strikes me as a very film-y D70? Should I quit worrying and just beef up my chops in post?

DeCorday's gear list:DeCorday's gear list
Nikon D70s Nikon D200 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G ED-IF +6 more
Nikon D200 Nikon D70 Nikon D70s
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Osvaldo Cristo
Senior MemberPosts: 1,983Gear list
Like?
Re: Nikon colors in raw
In reply to DeCorday, 7 months ago

I think you have to try more options in your raw developer. ACR as all raw developer I know (NX2, DxO, just to mention two I also use) has option to choose your developing profile. If you like more saturated, even if you would like to simulate the default from another camera, all is possible.