I did it!

Started 8 months ago | Discussions
marclw
Senior MemberPosts: 1,238Gear list
Like?
I did it!
8 months ago

I'm a pro photog and did what just a year ago I would have thought unthinkable. I've been a Canon fanboy for years. I just sold off all of my Canon equipment, a 1Dmk3, a 5Dmk2, 70-200L f/2.8, 24-105L f/4, 24-70L f/2.8, 17-40L f/4, and 50mm f/1.4 and two flashes and an extender. I replaced it with two EM-1's and MFT lenses.

I still can't believe it, even when I shipped off 22 lbs of equipment off today.

A year ago, I bought a couple of EM-5's. They were quite impressive. (I'll be selling one or both shortly.) I found myself using the little jewels rather than my canon stuff. But, I couldn't make a conversion until a really rugged, sealed, pro level camera that could shoot action became available. The EM-1 changed that.

I couldn't be happier. Did I give anything up? A ton of weight, for sure. I can actually use the kit without breaking my back or aggravating my painful arthritic right thumb. IQ? Not really. The EM-5 and 1 are not full frame or AP-H sensors. So bokeh is a bit harder to manufacture, but you still can get it if you know how to use the DOF rules. Is there noise at high ISOs? Sure, but it's a lot better than both the 1Dmk3 and 5dmk2. I hated the 5D's banding....... I will miss the extremely clean files from the 1Dmk3, but I think I'll miss them less and less as I get more acclimated with the EM-1's files.

I just had to share! I'm so happy.....

Marc

marclw's gear list:marclw's gear list
Olympus E-M1
Canon EOS 5D Canon EOS-1D
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Derek Dean
Contributing MemberPosts: 717Gear list
Like?
Re: I did it!
In reply to marclw, 8 months ago

Congratulations, Marc, I hope you enjoy your new system, and I'll be interested in hearing your views (and seeing some photos) after you've had a chance to use it for a while.  Have fun!