Looking for a LIGHT but good camera

Started Dec 11, 2013 | Discussions
nydecoco1
New MemberPosts: 15
Like?
Looking for a LIGHT but good camera
Dec 11, 2013

Need a sanity check, please help.
I am a hobbyist, and like to carry the camera around all day. Started a few years ago with a Canon rebel dslr, that was too heavy with zooms. Was marginally better with primes. Talking about weight here, the picture quality and everything else was great.

Moved to Leica X1 (used, got a fantastic deal on it), and it was honestly a phenomenal camera except too slow. 35mm I can live with but not at 2.8 f stop, because for walking around the camera is next to useless at night.

From there I moved to my current rig, OLympus OM d EM 5. With a 25mm 1.4 lens. Well, the picture quality is outstanding and I can really get some amazing night shots due to 1.4 and the image stabilization function. But, and I know this isn't a big deal for some, the rig is super heavy. I mean if I am on my feet 5-7 hours, my shoulder starts hurting. This sucks bc I really enjoy everything else about this setup.

Looking at specs etc it seems that my options are another leica x, which is too slow and no IS so no night shots; something smaller like a sony 100, or a nikon 1, or a ricoh gr, but that's probably not any better than leica in the night shot department.

Question for the group: am I overlooking anything? How do these cameras compare to what I've used? Thanks a lot in advance!!!

RhysM
Senior MemberPosts: 1,882
Like?
Re: Looking for a LIGHT but good camera
In reply to nydecoco1, Dec 11, 2013

nydecoco1 wrote:

I am a hobbyist, and like to carry the camera around all day. Started a few years ago with a Canon rebel dslr, that was too heavy with zooms. Was marginally better with primes. Talking about weight here, the picture quality and everything else was great.