Is the AF on the 20mm 1.7 Pany fast enough for indoor events?

Started Dec 11, 2013 | Discussions
Marco Cinnirella
Veteran MemberPosts: 4,533Gear list
Like?
Is the AF on the 20mm 1.7 Pany fast enough for indoor events?
Dec 11, 2013

As per my earlier thread last week, I have a theater event to shoot and I have never tried this before.

At my disposal is the Oly 45 1.8, the Pany 20mm 1.7 and the Sigma 60mm 2.8 and in terms of bodies, an OM-D EM-5 and a Panny GX1.

I am presently thinking about the Sigma 60 on the EM5 and the Pany 20 on the GX1 - any idea how these lenses perform in low light when it comes to autofocus? I'm worried that they may hunt quite a lot and that I might miss shots through focus hunting? Thing is, I could really use the 1.7 fast aperture on the 20 so I can keep ISO down to 3200 or 6400 at a push.

Please don't suggest the Oly 75 1.8 or Pany 12-35 2.8 - I have to work with what I already have guys.

Thanks !

-- hide signature --

"When words become unclear, I shall focus with photographs. When images become inadequate, I shall be content with silence." Ansell Adams.

Marco Cinnirella's gear list:Marco Cinnirella's gear list
Sony SLT-A77 Olympus OM-D E-M5 Fujifilm X-E1 Fujifilm X-E2 Sony RX100 +1 more
Panasonic Lumix DMC-GX1
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Gravi
Senior MemberPosts: 1,341
Like?
Re: Is the AF on the 20mm 1.7 Pany fast enough for indoor events?
In reply to Marco Cinnirella, Dec 11, 2013

I found the AF of the 20mm to be lacking, for my taste. If you shoot subjects at a distance, this might not be too much of a problem, but as you get closer to your subject, or have big changes in focussing distance between shots, the lens struggles.

I guess an AF light might help. The E-M5 has one, the GX1 I don't know.

-- hide signature --

Regards,
Gravi

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Marco Cinnirella
Like?
In reply to Gravi, Dec 11, 2013

Gravi wrote: