Raw files in Aperture - cleanup

Started Dec 11, 2013 | Discussions
flylow47
Regular MemberPosts: 161Gear list
Like?
Raw files in Aperture - cleanup
Dec 11, 2013

I've been shooting raw for 4 years now and have a few thousand raw files in my Aperture 3.5 library - some of the older ones are actually in a referenced iphoto library.  I don't need them anymore, and last night I did some searches for raw files and exported all of the raw files into "high" quality JPEGS for all periods before this year. My thought was to then delete the raw files from aperture, import the JPEGS back into their parent folders, and empty the Aperture trash.  Is this the best way to accomplish what I'm wanting to do?

flylow47's gear list:flylow47's gear list
Canon PowerShot G15 Canon EOS 6D Canon EOS 70D Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM +10 more
Johanfoto
Senior MemberPosts: 2,924
Like?
Re: Raw files in Aperture - cleanup
In reply to flylow47, Dec 11, 2013

flylow47 wrote:

I've been shooting raw for 4 years now and have a few thousand raw files in my Aperture 3.5 library - some of the older ones are actually in a referenced iphoto library. I don't need them anymore, and last night I did some searches for raw files and exported all of the raw files into "high" quality JPEGS for all periods before this year. My thought was to then delete the raw files from aperture, import the JPEGS back into their parent folders, and empty the Aperture trash. Is this the best way to accomplish what I'm wanting to do?

Don't! Did you also throw away the negatives after you got your prints when you were shooting on film?

-- hide signature --
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
DiploStrat
Contributing MemberPosts: 758Gear list
Like?

Scholars differ on this, but I agree with Johan - don't ever, not with a gun to your head, delete an original RAW file. (At least not one that surveyed the original quality scan.)