Database/Contacts/Adress Book Software

Started 4 months ago | Questions
NRRRRR
New MemberPosts: 2
Like?
Database/Contacts/Adress Book Software
4 months ago

For the fellow business owners out there- What software do you use as your database for contacts & addresses? I used to use Now Contact, but it doesn’t works with OS X Mavericks. I’m looking for Mac based software and ideally will sync with iPhone. Something more advanced than Mac’s Address Book. Does anyone use Daylite, FileMaker or VIPorbit? Any Pros/Cons of these softwares? Also, I don't want to use a software that I have to pay monthly for. Thanks!

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Abbott Schindler
Senior MemberPosts: 2,312
Like?
Re: Database/Contacts/Adress Book Software
In reply to NRRRRR, 4 months ago

I've been using FileMaker Pro for 2 decades or so—don't know about the other applications you mentioned. I also used to use Now Contacts and Touchbase, but my own apps in FileMaker almost 20 years ago and have been using them since.

FileMaker's extremely powerful and you can do almost anything with it. But with that power and versatility comes a rather steep learning curve if you want to go beyond the basics. I use FileMaker Pro Advanced so I can create application versions of my solutions, which can be useful.

Pros for FileMaker itself:

- Cross-platform: the packaged license allows installations on both Mac and Windows (which is one reason I use it). Also, the iOS app is free. I use ChronoSync to sync databases among my Macs and iTunes for the iOS devices. Works well.

- Comes with a lot of starter solutions and other goodies that make it feel more approachable for beginners. FileMaker's worked hard over the years to simplify the design process, but you still need to learn a lot.