EOS 20D - recommended setting for nighttime bridge shot

Started Dec 10, 2013 | Discussions
garmel
New MemberPosts: 1
Like?
EOS 20D - recommended setting for nighttime bridge shot
Dec 10, 2013

Hello, I'm new to photography aside from taking pics of my kids.  Can anyone recommend a good setting for taking nighttime pictures?  I'm looking to take pictures of things like the Golden Gate Bridge, Bay Bridge, etc.  No people.  Thank you!

Canon EOS 20D
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Port Royal Dad
Senior MemberPosts: 2,667
Like?
A lot of variation...Try this as a starting point...
In reply to garmel, Dec 11, 2013

garmel wrote:

Hello, I'm new to photography aside from taking pics of my kids.  Can anyone recommend a good setting for taking nighttime pictures?  I'm looking to take pictures of things like the Golden Gate Bridge, Bay Bridge, etc.  No people.  Thank you!

• Camera on a tripod
  • Remote shutter release
  • Spot metering
  • Single point-center focus
  • Mirror Lock-up on
  • Camera set in Manual Mode
  •    Shutter set to bulb mode
  •    ISO set to 100
  •    Aperture f/16 (this narrow aperture will give a star effect to lights)

Trial and error on the shutter speed…. Start with 20 seconds in an attempt to get light trails from the vehicles… adjust shutter speed to suit exposure.

r/Mike

-- hide signature --

B.R.A.S.S. (Breathe, Relax, Aim, Sight, Squeeze)

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
AOKH
Senior MemberPosts: 2,602Gear list
Like?
Re: A lot of variation...Try this as a starting point...
In reply to Port Royal Dad, Dec 11, 2013

Port Royal Dad wrote:

garmel wrote:

Hello, I'm new to photography aside from taking pics of my kids. Can anyone recommend a good setting for taking nighttime pictures? I'm looking to take pictures of things like the Golden Gate Bridge, Bay Bridge, etc. No people. Thank you!

• Camera on a tripod
  • Remote shutter release
  • Spot metering
  • Mirror Lock-up on