Nikon D7000 or Nikon D7100

Started 10 months ago | Discussions
MuraliSankar
New MemberPosts: 6
Like?
Nikon D7000 or Nikon D7100
10 months ago

I am new to DSLR photography I am planning to buy a Nikon DSLR.
 I am stuck between Nikon D7000 and Nikon D7100. I am seeing $400 difference between these cameras. Is it worth to spend $400 more for D7100. Please advice.

I am also planning to buy 18-140 and 50mm F1.8 G lenses. Please suggest better lenses if any in the above mentioned lenses price bracket.

I appreciate your advice on this.

Thanks

Nikon D7000 Nikon D7100
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Jeff AG
Regular MemberPosts: 157Gear list
Like?
Re: Nikon D7000 or Nikon D7100
In reply to MuraliSankar, 10 months ago

What kind of stuff are you interested in shooting?  Different tools for different jobs.

Jeff AG's gear list:Jeff AG's gear list
Fujifilm X20 Nikon D7000 Nikon D600 Nikon D7100 Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G +13 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
gear1box
Contributing MemberPosts: 647Gear list
Like?
In reply to Jeff AG, 10 months ago

Jeff's comment is spot on.  That said, the 18-140 is part of a tradition of excellent Nikon DX zooms and would be good with either body.

Unless you have a compelling need for resolution, though, my predisposition would be to get the the d7000 and use the savings to buy a sb700 external flash unit . . . and the money left over for a coupla ScanDisk Extreme Pro 8 gig 95meg/sec SD cards, with perhaps some Hoya SMC filters (don't forget a polarizer).

That would be an excellent kit to start.

I sold my d7000 two months ago; it is an excellent body with a sensor that pulls amazing detail out of the shadows.

-- hide signature --

gary ray
Semi-professional in early 1970s; just a putzer since then. interests: historical sites, virginia, motorcycle racing. A nikon user more by habit than choice; still, nikon seems to work well for me.