The world of black & white

Started 9 months ago | Discussions
Spud0
Regular MemberPosts: 110
Like?
The world of black & white
9 months ago

Hey there, I picked up a used x-e1 recently. Previously I've just been a camera-phone + apps guy(i know, I know) so I'm basically a newbie.

I do have some experience shooting with DSLRs and I've dabbled with CS3 though.

My question is this - I'd like to do a lot of street photography and portraits, mainly in b&w, any tips on how best to do this?

Should I get a b&w filter + lens hood for my lens?

Should I do this all in-camera, or is it better to convert it to b&w in PP?

Any tips on what lighting makes the best tones for b&w?

I guess I could post this in general instead of X system, but you guys have been so helpful to me so far in my short stay on this site.

Thanks in advance!

Fujifilm X-E1
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
skrause
Forum MemberPosts: 83Gear list
Like?
Re: The world of black & white
In reply to Spud0, 9 months ago

Hi there,

I have an X100S and use it quite a lot to shoot B&W.

I've set it to save files as RAW+Fine. This way you have the RAW in case you decide after the fact that a picture looks better in color or you decide to PP the RAW file to get a better B&W picture.

I've also saved two B&W presets (the X100S being limited to three presets while the E-1 has seven AFAIK): B&W+red filter and B&W+green filter.

Hope this helps,

Stefan

Spud0 wrote:

Hey there, I picked up a used x-e1 recently. Previously I've just been a camera-phone + apps guy(i know, I know) so I'm basically a newbie.

I do have some experience shooting with DSLRs and I've dabbled with CS3 though.

My question is this - I'd like to do a lot of street photography and portraits, mainly in b&w, any tips on how best to do this?

Any tips on what lighting makes the best tones for b&w?