Fuji X Pro 1 or XE 2

Started 7 months ago | Discussions
Nishi Sharma
Contributing MemberPosts: 543
Like?
Fuji X Pro 1 or XE 2
7 months ago

If you were to choose between XPro 1 and XE-2, which will be your choice?

I am asking this because at the moment in the UK there is a very tempting limited offer available:

X Pro 1 + 18mm + 1 free lens of your choice + Bellingha bag =  Stg 949

The two lenses alone will be worth Stg 694, so the body will cost me only Stg 255, which if I sold will sell on ebay for about stg 400+.

XE 2 for Stg Stg 799.

I am a wedding and event photographer and would be interested in hearing what you might have done if you were me.

Dave Luttmann
Forum ProPosts: 12,291Gear list
Like?
Re: Fuji X Pro 1 or XE 2
In reply to Nishi Sharma, 7 months ago

As a wedding photographer myself, I'd say both are excellent, but the X-Pro1 experience is better.  However, with the EX2 focus improvements I'd probably grab that and get the X-Pro2 next year so you have two working bodies.  Then grab the 23,35 and 56.

Dave Luttmann's gear list:Dave Luttmann's gear list
Canon PowerShot G3 Canon PowerShot SX150 IS Canon EOS D30 Canon EOS 10D Nikon D2X +15 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Filipphotography
Forum MemberPosts: 65Gear list
Like?

Mind you, I am new to Fuji and I don't have experience about the 2 cameras, here's why I just chose the X-E2, which is arriving tomorrow.

My dad has the X-Pro 1 and it's REALLY nice. I was so blown away that I decided to buy me a Fuji as well. AMAZING image quality and great camera built. I did hate its optical viewfinder though. I found it pointless. It's far from WYSIWYG (I understand you don't get 100% of what you see, but it's way way way off IMO). Per the million reviews I read before making the purchase, the X-E2 is newer, cheaper, and is a little bit better than the X-Pro 1.

So why pay more for the X-Pro 1 when the X-E2 delivers that and more? If you have no problem with the EVF, then consider the X-E2.