Does Anyone use checklists?

Started 8 months ago | Questions
phazelag
Senior MemberPosts: 1,983Gear list
Like?
Does Anyone use checklists?
8 months ago

Being a former Pilot I learned the value of following a checklist before and after and sometimes during a flight.  In almost every case of damaging an aircraft near take off or landing it was someone not following the checklist.  Usually that was a senior guy who got comfortable.

I think it should be required for surgeons as well.

I have been toying with making a Different Checklist for different types of Photography.  One for Landscapes, Events, Portraits, Studio, Street, and others.

I have considered laminating small or even tiny cards and attaching them to something like my camera strap, case, case strap loop, or keeping them in my wallet.

Usually when I put work into a shot, the only thing that prevents it from being better, is forgetting some fundamental or a setting I usually use in a different way.

What do you think?

-- hide signature --

www.scottzinda.com

phazelag's gear list:phazelag's gear list
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ200 Ricoh GR Panasonic Lumix DMC-LF1 RX100 III Panasonic Lumix DMC-G5
ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
billythek
Senior MemberPosts: 3,494
Like?
Re: Does Anyone use checklists?
In reply to phazelag, 8 months ago

I don't think I could stand to have a written checklist for each shot.

I've considered carrying a shot list, though, to help me better work the location.  Things like remember to shoot a pano, an HDR, low angle/high angle, portrait/landscape, different focal lengths, different lenses, back-lit shots, etc.

-- hide signature --

- Bill

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
PenPix
Contributing MemberPosts: 751
Like?

Nope.  But then I'm not holding a cabin full of people's life in my hands.