Fuji XE2 vs X100s / Lens help/ Nikon User here !

Started Oct 18, 2013 | Discussions
jenella
Senior MemberPosts: 1,000Gear list
Like?
Fuji XE2 vs X100s / Lens help/ Nikon User here !
Oct 18, 2013

Hello...I am new to Fuji and would love some opinions. I know there is no shortage here!! LOL

I currently have a Nikon D4/D700 and all the best glass. I do a lot of concerts, bands, and slowing way down on my portraits. Need a more casual camera for my family outings and my cadid kid shots.

I just bought the Fuji x100s after reading all the glowing reviews in hopes to have a perfect Little pocket camera for family trips and walk- around. its a decent camera ,it does come with a new learning curve . Im just not wowed by it like I though I would be. I did by a B+W filter and a hood but the hood gets in the way and I get a "turn camera off and then back on" message a lot

Im sure like others I find myself wishing for little more reach at times...then I read about about the release of the Fuji XE-2 and was SUPER excited thinking this was the answer!

I was about to pre-order the body only and add my own lenses. The one that appeals to me most is the 35mm 1.4. ..and the 60...and the.... After adding a couple lenses its $$$$. My question is the IQ of the Fuji x lenses in general .Is it worth the extra money and how does it compare to that of the 23mm fixed (35mm f2.0) in the x100s??? I currently have the Nikon 85 1.4, 14-24, 24-70, 20-200 which are awesome so that's all I have to compare it to. Didn't Nikon and Fuji have a marriage once upon a time with Nikon interchangeable lenses?

I have only had the x100s for a few days and can return it within 14 days. Like i said..its decent but only under the right conditions..its quirky. Sorry If I sound confused...I am! I just dont know if its worth all the investment. Thanks in advance for the advice!

Taken with the x100s..and a little PP in LR

-- hide signature --

"if it ain't broke" Get a new one anyway!