To which camera do most move to from XZ-1?

Started 9 months ago | Discussions
No Regrets
Contributing MemberPosts: 610
Like?
To which camera do most move to from XZ-1?
9 months ago

I am a beginner in this hobby, and the XZ-1 has been my first camera.  I love that it is small, and as a result I have it with me often when a photo opportunity presents itself to me.  I love the colors and how well the jpegs out of camera look.  Either I've been really lucky, or this camera just has an uncanny ability to make alot of my shots look pleasing to me.

I think it has done very well in well lighted situations, but when used in low light, I get some smearing, blurring of detail, etc.  Maybe it would help if I utilize a tripod...

I'm wondering what people move up to after using the XZ-1 that will overcome some of the short comings of this great little camera.

I realize that it will likely be much larger.  I will not sell the XZ-1 because it suits me well for many of my needs.  I'm just looking for an additional camera that I can enjoy and love as much as this little one.

Thanks much!

Kirppu
Regular MemberPosts: 335Gear list
Like?
Re: To which camera do most move to from XZ-1?
In reply to No Regrets, 9 months ago

No Regrets wrote:

I think it has done very well in well lighted situations, but when used in low light, I get some smearing, blurring of detail, etc. Maybe it would help if I utilize a tripod...

The low light ain't problem for me. It's when I crank up the ISO value and the noise sky rockets mainly because the small sensor. But it's a small sensors so no surprise there

Thanks much!

I tought funky idea of fast, fixed lense XZ-1 like camera with 4/3 sensor (and video capabilities hint hint olympus...)

-- hide signature --

Hobbyist member

Kirppu's gear list:Kirppu's gear list
Olympus XZ-1 Olympus PEN E-PL3 Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 40-150mm 1:4-5.6 Panasonic Lumix G 14mm F2.5 ASPH Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 14-42mm 1:3.5-5.6 II +8 more