Beginners and digital filters / postprocessing

Started 11 months ago | Discussions
AndreaV
Regular MemberPosts: 235
Like?
Beginners and digital filters / postprocessing
11 months ago

It happened to me to read statements from several people that says things like (just to quote a couple of them):

"As a mediocre amateur photographer I find that the only way I can make some of my photos interesting is by applying "art filters""

or

"Bought my first Canon three months back and rely heavily on post production editing (I suck at manual mode)"

What do you think about this kind of approach?

I consider it definitely wrong. I think that to learn to make good photos you first should learn to make them straight out of the camera, learning the techniques and experimenting. Postprocessing and digital filters are something great, but they should be wisely applied to improve and give something more to an already good and interesting image. I think that if you start from a badly exposed/composed photo there is no way to get a good image just with some digital manipulation or applying some over-sharpening/saturating or vintage-looking filter.

Barrie Davis
Forum ProPosts: 21,460
Like?
Re: Beginners and digital filters / postprocessing
In reply to AndreaV, 11 months ago

AndreaV wrote:

It happened to me to read statements from several people that says things like (just to quote a couple of them):

"As a mediocre amateur photographer I find that the only way I can make some of my photos interesting is by applying "art filters""

or

"Bought my first Canon three months back and rely heavily on post production editing (I suck at manual mode)"