Variable Neutral Density Filters

Started 11 months ago | Questions
foody1000
Forum MemberPosts: 73
Like?
Variable Neutral Density Filters
11 months ago

Has anyone used Variable Neutral Density Filters?  They seem very convenient but online reviews are mixed and there are some concerns about them degrading the IQ of images.  I'm just a hobbyist casual shooter and don't need my photos to be tack sharp.  I'm looking for a cheap one for $50 or below.  Can you please share your experience - good or bad?  Thanks.

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Jogger
Veteran MemberPosts: 8,393Gear list
Like?
Re: Variable Neutral Density Filters
In reply to foody1000, 11 months ago

foody1000 wrote:

Has anyone used Variable Neutral Density Filters? They seem very convenient but online reviews are mixed and there are some concerns about them degrading the IQ of images. I'm just a hobbyist casual shooter and don't need my photos to be tack sharp. I'm looking for a cheap one for $50 or below. Can you please share your experience - good or bad? Thanks.

There is no such thing as a good and cheap VariND filter.

In any case, these filters are really meant for video/film production, where you need precise exposure control using slow shutter speeds (1/48, 1/60, etc) and large apertures in bright light.

If you are just using this for photos, its far better and cheaper to get a set of ND filters.

Jogger's gear list:Jogger's gear list
Sony RX100 Sony Cyber-shot DSC-RX10 Nikon D700 Nikon Df Nikon AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR +4 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Lightshow
Senior MemberPosts: 2,404Gear list
Like?
In reply to Jogger, 11 months ago

Jogger wrote:

foody1000 wrote: