G15 vs G16

Started Sep 1, 2013 | Discussions
dezignman
Senior MemberPosts: 1,591
Like?
G15 vs G16
Sep 1, 2013

I am new to G series and was considering waiting for the G16, but in reviewing the specs I don't see that many changes from the G15.  The one significant one is the new engine.  Am I missing anything else?

Thanks in advance

LeoBricker
Regular MemberPosts: 136Gear list
Like?
Re: G15 vs G16
In reply to dezignman, Sep 1, 2013

You've got around 40% faster autofocus, up to 12fps burst vs 2fps and internal wifi plus a few smaller things I think. I just bought a G15. I don't do sports where the 12fps would be a big deal. The AF is decent on the 15 too. I don't need the wifi. I'd like to have had the 16 but didn't want to wait a few more weeks and pay more money. Good luck with your decision.

LeoBricker's gear list:LeoBricker's gear list
Canon PowerShot G15 Canon EOS 60D Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Sigma 18-250mm F3.5-6.3 DC Macro OS HSM
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
RedFox88
Forum ProPosts: 22,116Gear list
Like?
In reply to LeoBricker, Sep 1, 2013

LeoBricker wrote:

You've got around 40% faster autofocus, up to 12fps burst vs 2fps

No, this is wrong.  The G15 has a 10 fps full resolution burst for 1 second while the G16 has a 9 fps burst for 500 photos. But yes the G15 does have about a 50% faster autofocus and 50% less shutter lag.

and internal wifi plus a few smaller things I think. I just bought a G15. I don't do sports where the 12fps would be a big deal.

Kinda of a moot point because the 12 fps is for something like 1 or 2 seconds while the G15 does 10 fps for 1 second.

The AF is decent on the 15 too. I don't need the wifi. I'd like to have had the 16 but didn't want to wait a few more weeks and pay more money. Good luck with your decision.

digitalcuriosity
Contributing MemberPosts: 814
Like?