Buffer size D7100

Started Aug 31, 2013 | Discussions
Shop cameras & lenses ▾
chary zp
chary zp Senior Member • Posts: 1,057
Buffer size D7100

According to Nikon specs http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d7100/spec.htm the buffer size should be (L12, L14, C12, C14 for DX and 1,3 resp.)

7, 6, 9, 8 and 12, 8, 14, 11, but I can get only

7, 6, 8, 7 and 9, 7, 10, 8

with all buffer-eating features off (distortion corr, HI iso corr, Long iso corr)

What else is there to set to off?

Mako2011
Mako2011 MOD Forum Pro • Posts: 19,791
Re: Buffer size D7100

chary zp wrote:

According to Nikon specs http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d7100/spec.htm the buffer size should be (L12, L14, C12, C14 for DX and 1,3 resp.)

7, 6, 9, 8 and 12, 8, 14, 11, but I can get only

7, 6, 8, 7 and 9, 7, 10, 8

with all buffer-eating features off (distortion corr, HI iso corr, Long iso corr)

What else is there to set to off?

ADL maybe?

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
chary zp
chary zp OP Senior Member • Posts: 1,057
Re: Buffer size D7100

Mako2011 wrote:

chary zp wrote:

According to Nikon specs http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d7100/spec.htm the buffer size should be (L12, L14, C12, C14 for DX and 1,3 resp.)

7, 6, 9, 8 and 12, 8, 14, 11, but I can get only

7, 6, 8, 7 and 9, 7, 10, 8

with all buffer-eating features off (distortion corr, HI iso corr, Long iso corr)

What else is there to set to off?

ADL maybe?

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

ADL doesn't make any change whatsoever.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Mako2011
Mako2011 MOD Forum Pro • Posts: 19,791
Perhaps

chary zp wrote:

Mako2011 wrote:

chary zp wrote:

According to Nikon specs http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d7100/spec.htm the buffer size should be (L12, L14, C12, C14 for DX and 1,3 resp.)

7, 6, 9, 8 and 12, 8, 14, 11, but I can get only

7, 6, 8, 7 and 9, 7, 10, 8

with all buffer-eating features off (distortion corr, HI iso corr, Long iso corr)

What else is there to set to off?

ADL maybe?

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

ADL doesn't make any change whatsoever.

Perhaps your set to Raw + Jpeg and "optimal quality"...try "size priority"

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
chary zp
chary zp OP Senior Member • Posts: 1,057
Re: Perhaps

Mako2011 wrote:

chary zp wrote:

Mako2011 wrote:

chary zp wrote:

According to Nikon specs http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d7100/spec.htm the buffer size should be (L12, L14, C12, C14 for DX and 1,3 resp.)

7, 6, 9, 8 and 12, 8, 14, 11, but I can get only

7, 6, 8, 7 and 9, 7, 10, 8

with all buffer-eating features off (distortion corr, HI iso corr, Long iso corr)

What else is there to set to off?

ADL maybe?

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

ADL doesn't make any change whatsoever.

Perhaps your set to Raw + Jpeg and "optimal quality"...try "size priority"

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

I have RAW only, sorry, should've mentioned... I know that +JPG reduces buffer size, so I am trying all I can to get to the paper values, but there must be something hidden, or the web is lying.

Anyone any real experience with setting D7100?

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Mako2011
Mako2011 MOD Forum Pro • Posts: 19,791
keep looking

chary zp wrote:

Mako2011 wrote:

chary zp wrote:

Mako2011 wrote:

chary zp wrote:

According to Nikon specs http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d7100/spec.htm the buffer size should be (L12, L14, C12, C14 for DX and 1,3 resp.)

7, 6, 9, 8 and 12, 8, 14, 11, but I can get only

7, 6, 8, 7 and 9, 7, 10, 8

with all buffer-eating features off (distortion corr, HI iso corr, Long iso corr)

What else is there to set to off?

ADL maybe?

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

ADL doesn't make any change whatsoever.

Perhaps your set to Raw + Jpeg and "optimal quality"...try "size priority"

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

I have RAW only, sorry, should've mentioned... I know that +JPG reduces buffer size, so I am trying all I can to get to the paper values, but there must be something hidden, or the web is lying.

Anyone any real experience with setting D7100?

It came up before (just recently) and the answer is an obvious one and now I can't find it. Same thing happens with the D7K. I'll keep trying.

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Brandon birder
Brandon birder Veteran Member • Posts: 3,852
Re: Buffer size D7100

Few other things.

Have you set the shutter to release not focus?

Are you shooting at at a slow shutter speed?

Are you spot metering or using matrix.

Is autoiso off?

Are you using a 90MB/sec SD card?

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Mako2011
Mako2011 MOD Forum Pro • Posts: 19,791
Auto-ISO

Mako2011 wrote:

chary zp wrote:

Mako2011 wrote:

chary zp wrote:

Mako2011 wrote:

chary zp wrote:

According to Nikon specs http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d7100/spec.htm the buffer size should be (L12, L14, C12, C14 for DX and 1,3 resp.)

7, 6, 9, 8 and 12, 8, 14, 11, but I can get only

7, 6, 8, 7 and 9, 7, 10, 8

with all buffer-eating features off (distortion corr, HI iso corr, Long iso corr)

What else is there to set to off?

ADL maybe?

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

ADL doesn't make any change whatsoever.

Perhaps your set to Raw + Jpeg and "optimal quality"...try "size priority"

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

I have RAW only, sorry, should've mentioned... I know that +JPG reduces buffer size, so I am trying all I can to get to the paper values, but there must be something hidden, or the web is lying.

Anyone any real experience with setting D7100?

It came up before (just recently) and the answer is an obvious one and now I can't find it. Same thing happens with the D7K. I'll keep trying.

Check Auto-ISO off...that was the other one folks reported changed R number

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
chary zp
chary zp OP Senior Member • Posts: 1,057
Re: Buffer size D7100

Brandon birder wrote:

Few other things.

Have you set the shutter to release not focus?

Are you shooting at at a slow shutter speed?

Are you spot metering or using matrix.

Is autoiso off?

Are you using a 90MB/sec SD card?

Shutter release/ focus - if you mean settings A1 and A2, doesn't matter what I set, doesn't influence buffer size.

Slow shutter speed? Doesn't matter what shutter speed you set on the camera, the buffer still shows the numbers I've already written. Either 1/1000 s or 1 ", no change.

AF mode doesn't influence the buffer size.

I am not using Auto-iso. I've just checked, Auto-Iso up to 6400 doesn't influence buffer, only HI modes reduce buffer, quite dramatically to only 4 or even 3 frames in both DX and 1,3.

I am using 95 MB/s Sandisk UHS-1 Extreme Pro, but I can imagine how the card speed can influence the buffer

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
JimPearce
JimPearce Veteran Member • Posts: 8,559
One firmware glitch I know of...
2

In lossless 12 bit and 1.3x crop mode, the camera indicates that there are 9 shots in the buffer. There are 12, and I've confirmed it.

-- hide signature --

Jim

 JimPearce's gear list:JimPearce's gear list
Nikon D7100 Nikon D500
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
chary zp
chary zp OP Senior Member • Posts: 1,057
Re: Auto-ISO

Mako2011 wrote:

Mako2011 wrote:

chary zp wrote:

Mako2011 wrote:

chary zp wrote:

Mako2011 wrote:

chary zp wrote:

According to Nikon specs http://imaging.nikon.com/lineup/dslr/d7100/spec.htm the buffer size should be (L12, L14, C12, C14 for DX and 1,3 resp.)

7, 6, 9, 8 and 12, 8, 14, 11, but I can get only

7, 6, 8, 7 and 9, 7, 10, 8

with all buffer-eating features off (distortion corr, HI iso corr, Long iso corr)

What else is there to set to off?

ADL maybe?

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

ADL doesn't make any change whatsoever.

Perhaps your set to Raw + Jpeg and "optimal quality"...try "size priority"

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

I have RAW only, sorry, should've mentioned... I know that +JPG reduces buffer size, so I am trying all I can to get to the paper values, but there must be something hidden, or the web is lying.

Anyone any real experience with setting D7100?

It came up before (just recently) and the answer is an obvious one and now I can't find it. Same thing happens with the D7K. I'll keep trying.

Check Auto-ISO off...that was the other one folks reported changed R number

As I posted below, Auto-Iso doesn't influence buffer size up to native 6400, only HI modes influence buffer size, drop down to 3-4. Definitely not the drop from 14 to 10 (1,3x lossy 12bit)

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
chary zp
chary zp OP Senior Member • Posts: 1,057
Re: One firmware glitch I know of...

JimPearce wrote:

In lossless 12 bit and 1.3x crop mode, the camera indicates that there are 9 shots in the buffer. There are 12, and I've confirmed it.

-- hide signature --

Jim

Oh my, is it really that simple? Just an info bug?

You are right,

12 lossless 1,3 - 12 shots at 7 fps (says 9)

12 lossy 1,3 - 15 shots at 7 fps(says 10)

Not too bad for birds and hockey, after all

Thanks man for the right kick in the head. I've already written to Nikon, so I wonder what they come up with.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
archrich
archrich Senior Member • Posts: 1,199
Re: One firmware glitch I know of...

Thanks for the tip Jim and I appreciate you asking this question Chary. I should have thought of this myself.

Archie

 archrich's gear list:archrich's gear list
Sigma 150-600mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM | S Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3 Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX100 Olympus E-1 Nikon D810 +8 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Robert Morris
Robert Morris Contributing Member • Posts: 766
Re: One firmware glitch I know of...

I shot with Nikon since the D100 and the buffer count on the top LCD is only an estimate of what you may get. You will almost always get more or less shots depending on the amount of detail in the scene you are shooting. Not a bug just the coder's of the machine best guess based "average" picture detail.

-- hide signature --

RM

 Robert Morris's gear list:Robert Morris's gear list
Olympus XZ-1 Sony RX100 II Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX100 Nikon D90 +35 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Robert Morris
Robert Morris Contributing Member • Posts: 766
Re: Buffer size D7100

Notice the first disclaimer at the bottom of the chart. Shoot some pictures of a clear blue sky and you might be able to hit you numbers or do even better. Also every Nikon camera that I have ever owned starts writing to the memory card after the first shot so faster cards do make a difference in buffer performance.

From Nikon's website used without their permission.

*1 All figures are approximate. File size varies with scene recorded.

+

RM

 Robert Morris's gear list:Robert Morris's gear list
Olympus XZ-1 Sony RX100 II Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX100 Nikon D90 +35 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
JimPearce
JimPearce Veteran Member • Posts: 8,559
No, a bug...

Best guess, as per Nikon is 12.

-- hide signature --

Jim

 JimPearce's gear list:JimPearce's gear list
Nikon D7100 Nikon D500
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
chary zp
chary zp OP Senior Member • Posts: 1,057
Re: Buffer size D7100

Robert Morris wrote:

Notice the first disclaimer at the bottom of the chart. Shoot some pictures of a clear blue sky and you might be able to hit you numbers or do even better. Also every Nikon camera that I have ever owned starts writing to the memory card after the first shot so faster cards do make a difference in buffer performance.

From Nikon's website used without their permission.

*1 All figures are approximate. File size varies with scene recorded.

+

RM

That is of course true. But if the same principle applies to the camera and to the specs sheet, why do they differ in numbers? I'd be happy to read "10 frames buffer, depends on the scene" and find r10 on my camera display. No confusion. But why does the specs sheet say 14 when camera says 10? That's the point at this moment.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Mako2011
Mako2011 MOD Forum Pro • Posts: 19,791
hmmm

chary zp wrote:

Robert Morris wrote:

Notice the first disclaimer at the bottom of the chart. Shoot some pictures of a clear blue sky and you might be able to hit you numbers or do even better. Also every Nikon camera that I have ever owned starts writing to the memory card after the first shot so faster cards do make a difference in buffer performance.

From Nikon's website used without their permission.

*1 All figures are approximate. File size varies with scene recorded.

+

RM

That is of course true. But if the same principle applies to the camera and to the specs sheet, why do they differ in numbers? I'd be happy to read "10 frames buffer, depends on the scene" and find r10 on my camera display. No confusion. But why does the specs sheet say 14 when camera says 10? That's the point at this moment.

The "r" number is based on worse case and predictive. Normally it should match the chart. A setting seems to be giving you one less than what others owners show. All the normal culprits don't seem to be the cause.

-- hide signature --

My opinions are my own and not those of DPR or its administration. They carry no 'special' value (except to me and Lacie of course)

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
freesty
freesty New Member • Posts: 12
Re: One firmware glitch I know of...

chary zp wrote:

JimPearce wrote:

In lossless 12 bit and 1.3x crop mode, the camera indicates that there are 9 shots in the buffer. There are 12, and I've confirmed it.

-- hide signature --

Jim

Oh my, is it really that simple? Just an info bug?

You are right,

12 lossless 1,3 - 12 shots at 7 fps (says 9)

12 lossy 1,3 - 15 shots at 7 fps(says 10)

Not too bad for birds and hockey, after all

Thanks man for the right kick in the head. I've already written to Nikon, so I wonder what they come up with.

You got a 95MB/s card. Maybe the buffer empties before running out. Test your buffer with slower card...

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
JimPearce
JimPearce Veteran Member • Posts: 8,559
Assumptions Mako...

My assumption is that with 12 bit lossless and 1.3 crop mode everyone sees 9 in the buffer rather than 12. If anyone sees 12 I'd like to hear it.

-- hide signature --

Jim

 JimPearce's gear list:JimPearce's gear list
Nikon D7100 Nikon D500
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Keyboard shortcuts:
FForum MMy threads