NX Macro Focus Issue

Started Aug 14, 2013 | Discussions
OtterBoxing
New MemberPosts: 10
Like?
NX Macro Focus Issue
Aug 14, 2013

Hi there,

I seem to be having an issue with the focus on the NX1000. I have the standard 20-50mm Lens.
I'm new to the whoe camera/photography thing, but I find that the camera is not focusing on the closest object.... Instead it is automatically focusing on a further object.

Especially when the object itself is off center. I tried to adjust the target zoom point and it just refuses to take the shot.

I'm not sure if I'm explaining it properly, but I have attached a few samples of what I mean.

If anyone knows what I'm doing wrong please let me know.. I did purchase the camera used, so I really hope I didnt end up buying a defective unit.

Thanks for your help in advance

Coldamus
Senior MemberPosts: 1,591
Like?
Re: NX Macro Focus Issue
In reply to OtterBoxing, Aug 15, 2013

OtterBoxing wrote:

Hi there,

I seem to be having an issue with the focus on the NX1000. I have the standard 20-50mm Lens.
I'm new to the whoe camera/photography thing, but I find that the camera is not focusing on the closest object.... Instead it is automatically focusing on a further object.

How far is the object you are trying to focus on? The specs say the MFD (minimum focusing distance) for that lens is 0.28 metre (11 inches). That is probably at 20mm, so the MFD at the telephoto end of the range would probably be greater.

Especially when the object itself is off center. I tried to adjust the target zoom point and it just refuses to take the shot.

That commonly happens in low light or when there it nothing contrasty enough within the target area for the AF to lock onto. You could try setting the AF Area to Multi AF but that is more prone to selecting the wrong object. As a last resort, try manual focus.

I'm not sure if I'm explaining it properly, but I have attached a few samples of what I mean.