Panasonic X920 vs. Sony PJ 790 vs Canon HF G30

Started Jul 13, 2013 | Discussions
rlapporte
Regular MemberPosts: 241
Like?
Panasonic X920 vs. Sony PJ 790 vs Canon HF G30
Jul 13, 2013

I'm fairly new to video, and I'm trying to decide between these three camcorders. I've done quite a bit of homework, and it seems like the Sony might have the best OIS, but the Panasonic seems to have really good auto white balance and IQ. The Canon will record 1080p/60 in MP4, and I don't believe the others will. The Canon has the furthest reach. The Sony has the projector which I doubt I'll use. I do think I'll use WiFi with my Android or iPhone, but they all have that feature.  I'm not too concerned about the cost difference between the three, although obviously the Panasonic wins in that department.  I suppose I might want to set up a wireless mic at some point, but I'm not sure about that yet.

I'm looking for any further thoughts about pros/cons before I take the plunge. I have not seen a great review comparing the three.

How big of a deal is the 1080p/60 with MP4?

Thanks in advance,

Rob

buratino
Junior MemberPosts: 44
Like?
Re: Panasonic X920 vs. Sony PJ 790 vs Canon HF G30
In reply to rlapporte, Jul 13, 2013

>How big of a deal is the 1080p/60 with MP4?

I believe it's mostly about uncompressed LPCM 16-bit audio, which does not fit into official AVCHD 2.0 format.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
silyn
Regular MemberPosts: 380
Like?

rlapporte wrote: