Third party grip for D300?

Started Jul 7, 2013 | Discussions
Richy6771
Contributing MemberPosts: 600Gear list
Like?
Third party grip for D300?
Jul 7, 2013

What would be a good but inexpensive grip for the D300? The Nikon grip is quite expensive, so I'm ruling that out. Thanks in advance for your expert input.

Richy6771's gear list:Richy6771's gear list
Nikon D300 Nikon D7000 Nikon D600 +1 more
Nikon D300
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Chuck Steenburgh
Senior MemberPosts: 1,982Gear list
Like?
Re: Third party grip for D300?
In reply to Richy6771, Jul 7, 2013

Of those available now, I'd recommend the Phottix. It's not as cheap as some out there, but it's well made.  Phottix also stands behind their products; they replaced my Kosmo (EN4 battery pack) under warranty with no hassles.

http://amzn.to/16XZq8b

The Zeikos is another alternative, but I have no experience with it.

http://amzn.to/1803ypp

By and large, third party grips are most notably different from the genuine article in terms of how well they mate to the body (they can be slightly wobbly) and generally "cheaper" feel to them. But I have used many grips (including Nikon) and if you buy from a reputable source they are functionally equivalent.

http://sportsphotoguy.com/phottix-bp-d300-battery-pack/

Chuck Steenburgh's gear list:Chuck Steenburgh's gear list
Casio Exilim EX-FH20 Nikon Coolpix S800c Nikon D40 Nikon D70 Nikon D7000 +22 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Kerry Pierce
Forum ProPosts: 17,198Gear list
Like?
In reply to Richy6771, Jul 7, 2013

Richy6771 wrote:

What would be a good but inexpensive grip for the D300? The Nikon grip is quite expensive, so I'm ruling that out. Thanks in advance for your expert input.

Hi Richy,