How satisfied are you with your E-M5?

Started Jun 29, 2013 | Questions
apennh
New MemberPosts: 4
Like?
How satisfied are you with your E-M5?
Jun 29, 2013

I'm travelling through the UK and Europe for 6 weeks and i'm trying to decide what camera to take.

I currently have the Nikon D700 with a 28 - 300 lens and 50 1.8 and last year i took it on a 4 week holiday to the USA and it was a huge burden. My neck was killing me by the end of the trip so there is no way i'm taking with me again.

I had pretty much made up my mind to get the Canon 6D with the 24-105 f.4 and a 50 1.4 but then i wondered if it really is light enough for travel. I read some good reviews about the Olympus OM-D E-M5 and now i don't know what to do.

I will be shooting mostly landscapes and street photography and imagine i'll be doing a bit of low light photography and i'll probably want to blow a few up when i get back. I'm not a pro i just enjoy photography as a hobby but i am quite picky when it comes to image quality.

Obviously the better choice in regards to image quality is the 6D but my dilemma is i will be on a tour and i am only allowed a small carry-on (basically the size of a small handbag) i have not been able to find a camera bag that fits into their requirements, so i will have to carry the camera in my handbag when not in use.

My D700 with the 28 - 300 (a lens which i hate by the way) weighs approx 2.1 KG

6D with the 24 - 105 weighs approx 1.5KG add the 50 1.4 to my bag and it's approx 1.8KG but at least the most that will be around my neck is 1.5KG

Olympus E-M5 with twin lens kit 14 - 42 & 40 - 105 weighs approx 800grams

So my question is how satisfied with the E-M5 are you when your shooting or when looking back through your photos do you ever wish/or how often do you wish you had an SLR in that moment? Is it worth sacrificing good image quality for weight or is the Olympus pretty satisfying and you don't really see it as a sacrifice?

Thanks.

ANSWER: