Canon SL1 vs. Sony Nex-6 or something else???

Started Jun 5, 2013 | Discussions
SMD79
New MemberPosts: 23
Like?
Canon SL1 vs. Sony Nex-6 or something else???
Jun 5, 2013

I can't make up my mind. Please help. I'm asking this in the Canon forum because I'm leaning toward the Sony at this point for reasons stated below. My purpose for getting a camera is to shoot our 18 month old son in everyday life and also for headshots (he does commercial work believe it or not). My wife and I are looking for a camera that meets these criteria which I've listed in order of importance:

1) Fast Autofocus. This is #1 priority for sure.

2) Shallow DoF. Rules out smaller sensor cameras.

3) Low light performance.

4) Relatively compact.

5) Hopefully around or under $800 (I get a 25% discount on Sony Cameras)

I work as a videographer so I'm somewhat knowledgable of cameras BUT this will be my first "real" camera purchase for photos beyond the Canon S90 we got a few years back. Unfortunately the S90's AF isn't nearly fast enough at all and we want better low light performance and shallower DoF so we're going larger sensor.

We don't have any lenses and realistically our budget right now doesn't allow for some of the awesome lenses that Canon has so I was almost dead set on getting the Sony NEX-6 until I picked up the little Canon SL1 the other day and messed around with it for a minute. I suddenly realized the power of the Optical Viewfinder and it's near instant AF. That is EXACTLY what we want! Granted the SL1's LCD live view display is MUCH slower for AF than the Sony. The Sony's AF is ALMOST as fast as Canon's OVF...but not quite. And that is our most important criteria so now I'm totally confused.