Down and dirty editor and catalog software. Picasa, LR, DPP, PS,PSE??????

Started Jun 2, 2013 | Discussions
1003mikey
Regular MemberPosts: 415
Like?
Down and dirty editor and catalog software. Picasa, LR, DPP, PS,PSE??????
Jun 2, 2013

I have found nothing since this 2010 thread  http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/2751956

Picasa seems to do a good job with quick edits and cataloging. I keep it on my laptop when on the road.

I just lost a hard drive on my PC and  am in the process of reinstalling software.

Obviously, I will reinstall all Canon software, as well as everything else I have (I know that if I don't install it, I will need something in a pinch and have to install it anyway)

I find myself using PS less and less, and PSE and Picasa more and more (I am not a pro and have always struggled wit PS)

I do not have Lightroom.

With that long lead in (sounds like an old song:) ) Who here uses Picasa most of the time? Who is using what most of the time?

tonyjr
Veteran MemberPosts: 5,153Gear list
Like?
Re: Down and dirty editor and catalog software. Picasa, LR, DPP, PS,PSE??????
In reply to 1003mikey, Jun 2, 2013

I am on a mac . I have folders - plants , flowers , pictures , churches , family for my shots .

They get sub folders  like -

Family - person [ like Bruce 1-12-13 ] birthdays , weddings , parties , grads , hospital [ I am older / retired  and when someone gets sick , we go ] , Black and White .

A lot of shots overlap , so same shots could be in different folders .

I am on smugmug and my system works there too .

tonyjr's gear list:tonyjr's gear list
Canon EOS 400D Canon EOS 7D Canon EF 35mm f/2.0 Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM Canon EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM +14 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
MisterPootieCat
Senior MemberPosts: 2,988Gear list
Like?
DPP, Faststone, PSE (in that order)
In reply to 1003mikey, Jun 2, 2013