OMD settings: beginner

Started May 27, 2013 | Questions
joehawthorn
New MemberPosts: 4
Like?
OMD settings: beginner
May 27, 2013

in setting up my OMD there are many choices to be made.

I am using the 45 lens primarily for taking shots of my young children, many indoors. What are your default settings in either auto or other? My major issue is the camera often focusses on the background rather than the kids if they are moving.

(Coming from a p and s)

Fabulous photos when I get it right!

tedolf
Forum ProPosts: 16,788Gear list
Like?
Joe an OMD, a fast short telephoto lens and a beginner......
In reply to joehawthorn, May 27, 2013

joehawthorn wrote:

in setting up my OMD there are many choices to be made.

I am using the 45 lens primarily for taking shots of my young children, many indoors. What are your default settings in either auto or other? My major issue is the camera often focusses on the background rather than the kids if they are moving.

(Coming from a p and s)

Fabulous photos when I get it right!

moving up from a point and shoot is a really bad combination unless you have some prior SLR and interchangeable lens experience from the film days.

The OM-d is a very complicated camera and the Depth of Field with the 45mm lens is far shallower than what you are used to.  With your point-n-shoot almost everything was in focus most of the time (lens set to hyperfocal distance) and you didn't have to handle selective focus that much.  With the combination you have at maximum aperture almost nothing is in focus and you have to place the plane of focus carefully and choose a Depth of field that is appropriate for the subject.

If all of this sounds incomprehensible to you then you are definately in way over your head, and I am not even talking about the complexities of opperating and setting up the camera itself which are prodigious.