Should I buy a NEX?

Started May 23, 2013 | Discussions
cwtbone
Regular MemberPosts: 229Gear list
Like?
Should I buy a NEX?
May 23, 2013

I have been shooting DSLRs for many years and I have been strongly considering getting a NEX for portability and casual family outings. I normally shoot wildlife, macros and landscapes. I have questions though about how easy it is to get good focus using just the LCD. The deal on the F3 at B&H right now is very tempting but I wonder if I would regret not moving up to the NEX 6 with the viewfinder. I shoot most of the time with a Sony A65 and though I can use the LCD to shoot I almost always use the EVF. What are do some of you experienced NEX shooters think?

cwtbone's gear list:cwtbone's gear list
Sony a6000
Sony SLT-A65
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Yezariael
Contributing MemberPosts: 574Gear list
Like?
Re: Should I buy a NEX?
In reply to cwtbone, May 23, 2013

I have the a77 and since half a year NEX-6: The a77 stays most of the time at home, but sometimes I miss some things like very fast focussing or fast change of settings...

And I would NEVER want to loose the EVF! For most things the LCD is fine, but in sunny conditions etc. a viewfinder is not to beat...

Yezariael's gear list:Yezariael's gear list
Sony SLT-A77 Sony Alpha NEX-6 Sony DT 16-80mm F3.5-4.5 ZA Carl Zeiss Vario-Sonnar T* Sony DT 18-250mm F3.5-6.3 Sony 35mm F1.4 G +7 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Faketastic
Regular MemberPosts: 142
Like?

I was a long time DSLR guy before I jumped on the NEX-train. I first got the original NEX-5 which  I liked, but it wasn't until the NEX-6 I went all in on only NEX. I missed the viewfinder too much.

I vote NEX-6.

Clayton1985
Veteran MemberPosts: 4,064
Like?