Telephoto lens once again... E-PL5

Started May 20, 2013 | Questions
anazeta
New MemberPosts: 4
Like?
Telephoto lens once again... E-PL5
May 20, 2013

Hi all, I am a complete novice at the m4/3 photography and having literally just upgraded from a simple point-and-shoot camera, I need some advice on the telephoto lens. I know there have been many questions and answers about it already, but I still cannot decide which of the lenses might best suit my needs.

I am currently considering the following:

Oly 14-150mm vs lumix 14-140mm

or Lumix 45-175mm

I like the idea of Lumix OIS as I haven't got very steady hands, but I have seen a few negative comments about the performance of Lumix lenses on Oly bodies (IQ/ CA issues). So here come the questions... Would this IQ/ CA issue pose a problem for a complete beginner or is it only noticeable to an experienced eye? Or does it simply make more sense for me to use Oly lenses just because I own an Oly body and it will be a better and more sensible 'marriage' in terms of performance and IQ? Would I even be able to spot any differences in IQ without prior experience with the interchangeable lens cameras?

If it helps, at the moment I shoot mainly during my travels (landscape and architecture more than people) and being an upgrader I do like the idea of 'big zooms' for occasional wildlife opportunities. I also always use prints of up to and including A4 size.

In terms of other lenses, I currently own just the 14-42mm kit lens and the Lumix 14mm pancake (couldn't resist it at £99), but I have also got my eyes set on the lumix 20mm pancake and once I have had a chance to learn more about the m4/3 photography and experiment with my camera's possibilities, I will look at buying olympus 60mm macro.

Any thoughts & recommendations anyone?

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Olympus PEN E-PL5
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Guy Parsons