It's time to shop...which lens SEL24f18, SEL35f18 or Touit 32f18?

Started May 19, 2013 | Discussions
Pjjava34
Junior MemberPosts: 34
Like?
It's time to shop...which lens SEL24f18, SEL35f18 or Touit 32f18?
May 19, 2013

I'm ready to spend some bucks and get a great prime..the cost is not as important right now, but I'm not stupid with my $ and want to make sure the IQ will be worth the extra $400-500 for the Zeiss glass. I'm torn between the three options and wanted some guidance from others' experiences.

I shoot a mix of stills and videos and know that the Sony 35mm has the OSS but have heard it doesn't do much in the way of help for video. The Touit is scheduled for release in June and the initial reviews look splendid.

Do you guys think the Touit will out perform the elder 24mm Zeiss in IQ or video?

Should I skip Zeiss all together and get the Sony 35mm with OSS?

I'm not a pro, nor a pixel peeper but do appreciate sharp images across the board and lenses that can autofocus fast in video mode.

I'm okay with the focal lengths of them all. Any insight on which glass will provide the best still/video combo I greatly appreciate.

miro3
Senior MemberPosts: 1,822
Like?
Re: It's time to shop...which lens SEL24f18, SEL35f18 or Touit 32f18?
In reply to Pjjava34, May 19, 2013

Go Zeiss!

It is the best.

You deserve the best.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Astrophotographer 10
Senior MemberPosts: 4,588Gear list
Like?
In reply to miro3, May 19, 2013

The Zeiss will be hard to beat and more satisfying. I agree its better to have less lenses but really high quality ones that lots that are compromises.

Greg.

blue_skies
Senior MemberPosts: 6,734Gear list
Like?

Pjjava34 wrote:

I'm ready to spend some bucks and get a great prime..the cost is not as important right now, but I'm not stupid with my $ and want to make sure the IQ will be worth the extra $400-500 for the Zeiss glass. I'm torn between the three options and wanted some guidance from others' experiences.