Which would you choose? 85mm 1.4g or 135mm f2 DC?

Started May 17, 2013 | Discussions
teknos
New MemberPosts: 2
Like?
Which would you choose? 85mm 1.4g or 135mm f2 DC?
May 17, 2013

hey all, thought i would get some opinions.

im a hobbyist photog, i do alot of travel photography/street portraits, i am looking at buying another lens for portraits for the d800, either the 135mm or 85m 1.4g. which would you prefer and why? im considering buying the 135 then saving abit and getting the cheaper 85mm 1.8g.

is the 1.4g really worth the extra coin?

other lenses i already have,- samyang 14mm, sigma 35mm nikon 50mm 1.4d

Nikon D800
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Steven Sax
Regular MemberPosts: 447Gear list
Like?
Re: Which would you choose? 85mm 1.4g or 135mm f2 DC?
In reply to teknos, May 17, 2013

they're both terrific. And the 135 is so retro and built like a tank. The 85 however focuses ridiculously quickly and I believe is significantly more versatile. you can't go wrong...

Steven Sax's gear list:Steven Sax's gear list
Nikon D90 Nikon D300S Nikon D4 Nikon D600 Nikon AF-S Nikkor 14-24mm f/2.8G ED +8 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
bencope
New MemberPosts: 23
Like?

If you're shooting on a DX body I would pick the 85mm for sure unless you're exclusively doing work outside where you will have the enough room between you and your subject.  On FX, I find I use the 85mm 1.4G for indoor/studio work and the 135mm f/2DC outside if I don't want to carry a bigger lens like the 70-200mm.

primeshooter
Senior MemberPosts: 2,411
Like?

im a hobbyist photog, i do alot of travel photography/street portraits, i am looking at buying another lens for portraits for the d800, either the 135mm or 85m 1.4g. which would you prefer and why? im considering buying the 135 then saving abit and getting the cheaper 85mm 1.8g.