Do i need to buy 35mm prime lens for portrait?

Started May 6, 2013 | Questions
bewithsuresh
New MemberPosts: 2Gear list
Like?
Do i need to buy 35mm prime lens for portrait?
May 6, 2013

Hi,

I just bought Nikon D5200 with kit lens 18 - 105 mm.

Do i need to buy 35mm prime lens for portrait?

I mostly shoot picture of my little daughter and landscape.

Thanks,

Suresh.

bewithsuresh's gear list:bewithsuresh's gear list
Nikon D5200
ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Nikon D5200
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
skalfyfan
New MemberPosts: 20
Like?
Re: Do i need to buy 35mm prime lens for portrait?
In reply to bewithsuresh, May 6, 2013

bewithsuresh wrote:

Hi,

Thanks,

Suresh.

As an amateur new photographer I would say you don't HAVE to buy a 35mm prime lens but it wouldn't hurt depending on what kind of shots you want.

Out in the daytime you should be perfectly fine setting your 18-105mm to 35mm, if that's the FL you like, and taking your shots.

Now if you would like to be taking portrait-y type shots in lower light conditions and looking to have some really nice "bokeh" out of focus blurring going on then you should probably look at one of the primes. Either 35mm, 50mm f/1.8g, 85mm f/1.8g.

You can experiment which prime would suit you better by just using your 18-105 at 35mm, 50mm, 85mm and seeing what kind of framing and shooting distance you prefer.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Mssimo
Contributing MemberPosts: 891Gear list
Like?
In reply to skalfyfan, May 6, 2013

skalfyfan wrote:

bewithsuresh wrote:

Hi,

Thanks,

Suresh.

As an amateur new photographer I would say you don't HAVE to buy a 35mm prime lens but it wouldn't hurt depending on what kind of shots you want.

Out in the daytime you should be perfectly fine setting your 18-105mm to 35mm, if that's the FL you like, and taking your shots.