Started May 4, 2013 | Discussions
fad
fad
Forum ProPosts: 12,144Gear list
Like?
How to build a studio from scratch
May 4, 2013

Here's an unusual question:

I am adding on to my urban attached NYC townhouse, and I am thinking of constructing a workable studio on top of my 3rd story roof.  (I'm a street photographer, but I would like to do more studio shots of artistic photography.)

How do I find out how to specify this new space?

Where I would like to build has a northern exposure, and cannot be more than about 18' wide on the inside.   How tall and deep should I make it?  How much glass should I put in to use natural light.   What kind of finishes should the space have.

-- hide signature --

By now, you might be guessing that I've never actually used a photographic studio, although I know my way around the D800, multiple Nikon flashes and tripods.

Any suggestions would be most appreciated.

--
Frank
shot in downtown Manhattan.
http://sidewalkshadows.com/blog/ (street photos)

fad's gear list:fad's gear list
Canon EOS-1Ds Mark III Nikon D3S Nikon D800 Nikon D4s Nikon D810 +9 more
Barrie Davis
Forum ProPosts: 21,460
Like?
Re: How to build a studio from scratch
In reply to fad, May 4, 2013

fad wrote:

Here's an unusual question:

I am adding on to my urban attached NYC townhouse, and I am thinking of constructing a workable studio on top of my 3rd story roof.  (I'm a street photographer, but I would like to do more studio shots of artistic photography.)

How do I find out how to specify this new space?

Where I would like to build has a northern exposure, and cannot be more than about 18' wide on the inside.   How tall and deep should I make it?  How much glass should I put in to use natural light.   What kind of finishes should the space have.

-- hide signature --

By now, you might be guessing that I've never actually used a photographic studio, although I know my way around the D800, multiple Nikon flashes and tripods.