Monitor Calibration

Started Apr 28, 2013 | Discussions
chironNYC
Senior MemberPosts: 1,366
Like?
Monitor Calibration
Apr 28, 2013

I am an experienced amateur photographer who is just at the beginning stages (finally!) of learning how to do post-processing and printing with digital editing software.

From reading some of the threads here, I know that monitor calibration is probably something I should do before I do too much editing. So I am asking for some basic help with calibrating my monitors.

I use (primarily for my day job, but also for photography) a three monitor set-up. I am probably going to upgrade my desktop computer and graphics card soon, but not the monitors themselves. I think I am also going to buy a Canon Pixma Pro-10 printer. The monitors are three Samsung 2443BWT-1 24-Inch 1920 x 1200 LCD Monitors.

I see DataColor Spyder4 (Pro or Elite, not Express) or X-rite ColorMunki Display recommended a couple of times. I also know from looking on Amazon that each of these companies make lots of variations of their calibration tools.

What would you recommend as a calibration tool and as a process for someone like me? My editing software at this point is Lightroom 4, Photoshop Elements 11, the Efex suite, and Photo Ninja. I also have (but have not tried to use) Canon's DPP. Ultimately, in a year or two, I may try to move from Elements to Photoshop itself.

Thanks for your help. I appreciate it.

Peter

Sailor Blue
Senior MemberPosts: 6,093Gear list
Like?
Re: Monitor Calibration
In reply to chironNYC, Apr 29, 2013

You should be fine with any of the three color calibration devices you mention - all of them allow you to color calibrate multiple monitors.

You should look up the specs of your monitors to find out if they are TN or IPS monitors.  You want to use an IPS monitor for your photo work since the brightness, contrast, and colors change much less as you change your angle of view.