Need help deciding which lens to get for my new OLYMPUS E-PL5

Started Apr 26, 2013 | Discussions
tron555
Senior MemberPosts: 1,064Gear list
Like?
Need help deciding which lens to get for my new OLYMPUS E-PL5
Apr 26, 2013

On Amazon, the E-PL5 comes with this lens: OLYMPUS: M.ZUIKO DIGITAL 14-42mm F3.5-5.6 II (seems OK to me)

http://www.amazon.com/Olympus-Interchangeable-Digital-Camera-14-42mm/dp/B0096WDMGC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1366994436&sr=8-1&keywords=OLYMPUS+E-PL5

I am not an expert in lens design or specifications, but wonder if there is not a better lens that is sharper/faster that I should order my E-PL5 with. From what I read (as best I can understand), this looks like a very good alternative: Panasonic: LUMIX G X VARIO PZ 14-42mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH. POWER O.I.S. I would prefer this lens since it is much smaller and lighter, but is it still as fast and sharp as the one that comes as the kit lens? I don’t really want to give up quality and speed just to get the smaller lens. I don’t want to get too many lenses and want to get the best I can from to begin with.

http://www.four-thirds.org/en/microft/standard.html#i_014-042mm_f035-056_olympus

My priority is to be sharp and fast, not worried about movies. Since I am upgrading from a Canon G12 and want much faster AF and sharper images, should I just get the lens it comes with? ANY advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks!!!

Canon PowerShot G12 Leica X Vario Olympus PEN E-PL5
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Paul De Bra
Forum ProPosts: 11,049Gear list
Like?
Get the kit and wait for the 12-40 to be announced?
In reply to tron555, Apr 26, 2013

There are many different kit lenses and opinions vary a lot, probably because of sample variation more than because of inherent differences in the design. The Panasonic 14-42PZ may require using anti-shock delay because it has a blur issue depending on shutter shock.