Best lab for photo book

Started Apr 25, 2013 | Discussions
Debbie
Contributing MemberPosts: 586
Like?
Best lab for photo book
Apr 25, 2013

My daughter just had her engagement photos taken by a professional photographer in Chicago (I live in Ohio).  We bought the rights to the photos in our package.  Our plan is to make a book of the images and use that book as the sign-in for guests.  This way they can display the book on the coffee table in their home and have the memories of everyone that attended the wedding.  I'm not a professional photographer but have used mPIX and SmugMug.  I would like recommendations of where a non-professional could get a book that looks professional.  I'm willing to pay a fair amount for a quality book.  Thank you.

jrkliny
Senior MemberPosts: 2,725Gear list
Like?
Re: Best lab for photo book
In reply to Debbie, Apr 25, 2013

I did two blurb books and was happy with the results.  A few months ago I tried to research the various vendors and did not come to any definite conclusion.  Frankly I suspect the results are very similar for most of the vendors.  If there is an especially high quality vendor, I did not find it.

-- hide signature --

Jim, AKA camperjim, formerly from liny, Long Island New York

jrkliny's gear list:jrkliny's gear list
Canon EOS 600D Canon EF 35mm f/2.0 Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS +4 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
thill1111
Forum MemberPosts: 84
Like?
In reply to Debbie, Apr 25, 2013

SmugMug has capability to work with Blurb for making books:

http://www.blurb.com/partner/smugmug

But you can also use Blurb's Booksmart software to create a book directly without having to have photos uploaded to SmugMug.  I've had good luck with books I've made from Blurb.

MrScary
Veteran MemberPosts: 6,199Gear list
Like?
In reply to thill1111, Apr 25, 2013