which mac for photo editing

Started Apr 24, 2013 | Discussions
Pic Man
Senior MemberPosts: 1,000
Like?
which mac for photo editing
Apr 24, 2013

Hi, I'm looking to replace my 6 year old macbook with a newer model. My primary use for the computer will be photo editing using LR4 which I have now and CS6 which I will purchase sometime in the near future. My current macbook is fine for basic things like internet etc but slows down to frustratingly low speeds when I use LR4 and even snapseed. I have a strong preference for mac because it's all I've ever really used but I'm not ruling out a PC if it really is the best thing for my needs.

I'm looking to spend around a £1000 but can go higher if I think it's worth it. I've been looking around at different macs and this one seems to have the best specs for the money. Are the specs of this mac good enough, I'm a little worried that it's lacking in the graphics department. I'm not tech savvy so please advise.

Thankyou.

noirdesir
Forum ProPosts: 11,142
Like?
Re: which mac for photo editing
In reply to Pic Man, Apr 24, 2013

Pic Man wrote:

I'm looking to spend around a £1000 but can go higher if I think it's worth it. I've been looking around at different macs and this one seems to have the best specs for the money. Are the specs of this mac good enough, I'm a little worried that it's lacking in the graphics department.

I have exactly this model (but I added an SSD and upped the RAM to 16 GB). When using it with a 24" monitor, there is occasionally a little bit of hesitation in the graphics displaying (eg, when adjusting an image). But otherwise it absolutely fine.

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Jen Yates
Senior MemberPosts: 1,309
Like?
In reply to Pic Man, Apr 24, 2013

Pic Man wrote:

this one seems to have the best specs for the money.

1. Don't buy from that supplier. It's cheaper than from Apple as it's a grey import of a non UK machine (IE the wrong keyboard). Buy from Apple.