First Post - D800 soon, Please Advise: Which first two lenses?

Started Apr 21, 2013 | Discussions
r0gue
Junior MemberPosts: 38
Like?
First Post - D800 soon, Please Advise: Which first two lenses?
Apr 21, 2013

I'm new to DSLRs.  Some photography enthusiast friends gave me a lot of instruction and I found myself enticed to a full frame D800.  That was a loong contemplation and a LOAD of research and advice.  But that said, I find the lens decision a little more challenging.

(I think) I want a nice prime for faces, family, friends. Thinking of a 50 or 85.  Either in a 1.4 or 1.8.

And (I think) I want a nice ll around zoom lens.

I'd love to hear some advice from all of you.  I'll keep poking around to continue learning.  Thank for your help!

Nikon D800
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
M Lammerse
Forum ProPosts: 10,935
Like?
Re: First Post - D800 soon, Please Advise: Which first two lenses?
In reply to r0gue, Apr 21, 2013

r0gue wrote:

I'm new to DSLRs.  Some photography enthusiast friends gave me a lot of instruction and I found myself enticed to a full frame D800.  That was a loong contemplation and a LOAD of research and advice.  But that said, I find the lens decision a little more challenging.

(I think) I want a nice prime for faces, family, friends. Thinking of a 50 or 85.  Either in a 1.4 or 1.8.

I'd love to hear some advice from all of you.  I'll keep poking around to continue learning.  Thank for your help!

First of all, if you're new to DLSR photography, why a D800, why not a D600 or a D7100?
If you want to get the most out of the camera, you need good lenses. the 24-120mm is a good starter for a zoom lens, and the 85mm F/1.8G is an excellent starter as a prime lens.

You will probable get many advices, saying buy this or that but I first would wait a bit with making huge investments if this is your first DSLR. Who knows you will change your mind about using DSLR camera's after some time.