First attempt at photo stacking

Started Apr 19, 2013 | Discussions
Tommy tek
Regular MemberPosts: 392Gear list
Like?
First attempt at photo stacking
Apr 19, 2013

Grape Hyacinth

This is my first try at stacking. 8 frames stacked with zarine stacker.

camera Sony a33

lens Tamron 60mm Macro

I am pleased with the results, but I am wide open on suggestions on how to do it better.

Thanks

Tom

Tommy tek's gear list:Tommy tek's gear list
Sony SLT-A57 Sony a6000 Tamron SP AF 10-24mm F/3.5-4.5 Di II LD Aspherical (IF) Tamron SP AF 60mm F/2 Di II LD IF Macro Tamron 18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II PZD +1 more
Sony SLT-A33
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
KEVZPHOTOS
Forum ProPosts: 18,645
Like?
Re: First attempt at photo stacking
In reply to Tommy tek, Apr 20, 2013

Hi Tommy,

It's certainly a good result for a first time attempt.

The image does look somewhat noisy-grainy when viewed in the larger size.

For shots like this you wanna shoot at base ISO (100 or 50)...and for a flower that depth (I'm guessing that it was probably at least 8-10 cms deep.....one would normally require more than 8 shots to capture the entire DOF adequately with enough "overlap" between images.

Even with stacking, I would shoot at f/16 and take at least 20 images with a subject like that.

On this blade of grass I used 37 images - for example.

http://kvincentphotography.ca/stackedimages/h3da2bbe#h3da2bbe

http://kvincentphotography.ca/stackedimages

Just keep doing it...practice makes perfect.

Please also note - applying "selective lighting" in post is crucial on these kind of flower images, stacked or otherwise.

KEV

-- hide signature --

"No problem can be solved at the level of consciousness which created it" - Albert Einstein

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Tommy tek
Regular MemberPosts: 392Gear list
Like?
In reply to KEVZPHOTOS, Apr 20, 2013

Thanks Kevin.