Happily switched from Aperture to Lightroom?

Started Apr 17, 2013 | Discussions
The A-Team
Regular MemberPosts: 352
Like?
Happily switched from Aperture to Lightroom?
Apr 17, 2013

I have been using Aperture for about 3 years now, and I think it's time for a switch. Speed issues.

For those who have switched, what has been your experience? Are you pleased overall? What aspects are you more pleased with? What are you less happy with?

-- hide signature --

www.aputure.com/blog

Derek C
Contributing MemberPosts: 752
Like?
Re: Happily switched from Aperture to Lightroom?
In reply to The A-Team, Apr 17, 2013

The A-Team wrote:

I have been using Aperture for about 3 years now, and I think it's time for a switch. Speed issues.

For those who have switched, what has been your experience? Are you pleased overall? What aspects are you more pleased with? What are you less happy with?

-- hide signature --

www.aputure.com/blog

Long time Aperture user and still loving it, its fast and gets the job done.

Because Aperture is now a bit long in the tooth I was curious enough to trial Lightroom, whilst I found Lightroom to be very similar in terms of processing and the end result achieved, I stuck with Aperture as its (a) faster (for me) than Lightroom and (b) has a way nicer user interface.

-- hide signature --
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
Dr Chandra
Regular MemberPosts: 122
Like?
In reply to Derek C, Apr 17, 2013

Having recently switched to Lightroom 4, my observations are:

Lightroom's adjustments cope better with poorly exposed images than Aperture's. Both applications can rescue highlights and shadows to the same degree but the results in Lightroom look nicer. If your images are well exposed to begin with, I find processing results to be about equal.

Lens corrections are very nice and extremely useful. The sharpening workflow is powerful and has better visual feedback to guide your settings than in Aperture.