monopod as walking stick?

Started Apr 15, 2013 | Discussions
pistachioShell
Junior MemberPosts: 31
Like?
monopod as walking stick?
Apr 15, 2013

I'm new to DSLR shooting and learning the importance of a tripod.  I normally walk with a cane or walking stick and wonder about using a monopod as a walking stick.  My current walking stick can take a camera on top, but it is too short and wobbly.  So I wonder if a real monopod is too tall.  Doesn't using a walking stick with the hand strap so high make your shoulder sore?  Is it reasonable to plan on shortening it to walk and lengthening it to take a picture or does that defeat the convenience of a monopod?  Also, are the rubber tips on the bottom standard cane/walkingstick tips that I can buy by the dozen as they inevitably wear out -- or are they expensive proprietary tips that are hard to find?  The pictures I have seen don't look standard.

My main use would be for birding and similar nature photography.

Does anyone else lean heavily on their monopod?  Many thanks for sharing your experience.

scorrpio
Senior MemberPosts: 2,991
Like?
Re: monopod as walking stick?
In reply to pistachioShell, Apr 15, 2013

Most monopods are not designed to work as walking poles.    Some, however, are.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/569193-REG/Gitzo_GM1130MT_GM1130MT_Monotrek_Hiking_Stick_Monopod.html

Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
BackroadsTraveler
Regular MemberPosts: 461Gear list
Like?
In reply to pistachioShell, Apr 15, 2013

pistachioShell wrote: