Tamron 18-270 vs Sigma 18-250???

Started Apr 14, 2013 | Questions
Azure2
New MemberPosts: 6
Like?
Tamron 18-270 vs Sigma 18-250???
Apr 14, 2013

Hello...I'm new to DPREVIEW...I'm also new to photography as well as DSLR cameras...purchased a "new to me" Nikon D3000, middle of February and love it but I'm finding the lens 18-55 that came with the camera very limiting.  I'm looking at the Tamron 18-270 and the Sigma 18-250...I've read the review on both lens, but for the life of me not sure which would be best or if it is simply a case of pick one???

If anyone has used one or both and would consider passing along any thoughts I'd appreciate it...

Cheers

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Nikon D3000 Sigma 18-250mm F3.5-6.3 DC Macro OS HSM Tamron 18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
123Mike
Senior MemberPosts: 4,306Gear list
Like?
Re: Tamron 18-270 vs Sigma 18-250???
In reply to Azure2, Apr 15, 2013

Neither... every comparison I've seen shows that the Tamron 18-250 (not 270) is the sharpest of all the super zooms.

I've had the Tamron 18-250 once, but I did sell it after a couple of weeks, because I could not justify tying up that much money into a lens with that much compromise. I was also very surprised to see that 250mm on that lens actually reached *LESS* than a 55-200 lens I have. The 55-200 lens I have is way WAY sharper and outresolves the Tamron 18-250 at any setting whereever possible.

I now have a Tamron 17-50 f2.8 which covers my indoor and short needs. I'm now accustomed to a high enough quality that I can not go back to a super zoom.

So what I did is I got an efficient backpack (Fastpack 250), and became very handy swapping lenses. Looking through my collection, I noticed that by far most shots were all in the shortish range. Occasionally I reached 70, but I could have easily settled at 50.