Which NX is best for low light?

Started Apr 14, 2013 | Discussions
eyedo
Contributing MemberPosts: 624
Like?
Which NX is best for low light?
Apr 14, 2013

I'm a pro photog looking (again!) for a great walk around purse camera  for street photos and stock shot/fine art.

I'm normally a Nikon user,too heavy to lug and too cumbersome on trips.

I had the Fuji x100s..great camera as was the x100 but the x100s one I had was defective and they probably won't be in stock for awhile. However I felt a bit frustrated by the fixed focal length lens.

I have an older Samsung TL-500 which served me well but looking for higher resolution and larger sensor and good in low available light..night..say ISO 1600/3200

that is not too difficult to focus in low light as well. Fast lenses help..

I'd also like to be able to use my Nikon flashes and remotes so hot shoe is important.

Anything from the current Samsung line up fit this criteria?

I've seen some really nice images from the NX 210...Any good? I've not seen that many reviews.

Thx!

Fujifilm FinePix X100 Fujifilm X100S
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
tecnoworld
Senior MemberPosts: 4,138Gear list
Like?
Re: Which NX is best for low light?
In reply to eyedo, Apr 14, 2013

I'd say nx is not a top performer in the high iso field, but if you shoot raw, you can get some good results up to iso 1600 with nx5/10/100 and up to iso3200 with nx200/210/20/1000.

Now nx300 seems better and the first samples look usable up to iso6400 and even 12800, which is a lot.

I'd advise you to get the nx300, if you look for high iso, but it's very new and users have reported some bugs (please read other threads in this same forum).

tecnoworld's gear list:tecnoworld's gear list
Samsung TL500 Samsung NX100 Samsung NX200 Samsung NX300 Samsung NX 30mm F2 Pancake +12 more
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
eyedo
Like?
In reply to tecnoworld, Apr 14, 2013