Best Flash for the D7100

Started Apr 10, 2013 | Discussions
Bullseyejoe
New MemberPosts: 2
Like?
Best Flash for the D7100
Apr 10, 2013

Hi , I am new to Photography with dslr cameras and I am about to buy the 7100 and wondered which would be the best flash to buy for general use , I wont be using the camera to excess, just average general use I guess. I did own the 7000 for a short while and bought a second hand sb600 flash which seemed to over expose the pics! Anyway I sold both as I got my heart set on the 7100 shortly after it was released,

Thanks in advance Andrew

Nikon D7100
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
JeffryZ
Senior MemberPosts: 1,949
Like?
Re: Best Flash for the D7100
In reply to Bullseyejoe, Apr 10, 2013

The SB600 is a good flash.  If you think it is over-exposing you can adjust the settings of the flash or your camera settings- cheaper than buying a new one.  I own two SB600 flashes and will continue to use them when my D7100 arrives (Just shipped today!).  I am normally set for Rear Curtain Sycn in Aperature Priority mode and use the EV exposure controls to adjust my exposure.

-- hide signature --
Reply   Reply with quote   Complain
JeffryZ
Like?
In reply to JeffryZ, Apr 10, 2013

Curious why you sold your gear.  Since you refer to yourself as "new to DSLR" photography it sounds perhaps like you hadn't yet learned how to use it and get the most out of it.  Familiarize yourself better with it and then you will be able to get better pictures.

-- hide signature --
Bullseyejoe
New MemberPosts: 2
Like?
In reply to JeffryZ, Apr 10, 2013

Yes you are probably right that I didn't get the best out of the 7000 as I only had it for 4 weeks but I decided to twist rather than stick and get most of my money back whilst I could and get the 7100.So the 600 flash would of been good enough then? Is there no reason to get the SB 700 or the 910 ? Thanks

hirejn
Regular MemberPosts: 313Gear list
Like?