Sigma 35mm f1.4 and Zeiss 35mm f1.4 Imatested

Started Apr 9, 2013 | Discussions
Miljenko Devcic
Contributing MemberPosts: 963
Like?
Sigma 35mm f1.4 and Zeiss 35mm f1.4 Imatested
Apr 9, 2013

There has being lots of discussion about new Sigma 35mm f1.4 lens since it's rollout in November 2012. How good it really is and is it worth $900 are frequent questions all over web forums. Those who surf long enough DPR forums still remember my lens tests from few years back where I used accurate, repetitive Imatest tool. Since my main customer, country's best photo magazine has gone to the dogs, I stopped doing lens test on regular basys.However, since I'm still a photographer and still do buy lenses from time to time, I can afford myself to do some lens tests just for fun.
This time I compared Sigma 35mm f1.4 DG HSM A1 to probably it's main competitor, $1800 Zeiss Distagon 35mm f1.4 ZF2. To stir things up little bit further, I added another (close to) 35 mm lenses: $200 Nikkor 35mm f1.8G DX and $280 Micro-Nikkor 40mm f2.8G DX. Not really in a same class but good contenders for those who believe one should not spend a fortune on lenses.
The outcome is one very simple chart but you should keep in mind it takes huge effort to run those tests in order to get really exact data. So far I have uploaded just center resolution chart but in couple of days I'll add corner res and CA charts.

-- hide signature --

Best regards, Miljenko
www.pbase.com/miljenko
www.fotomag.net
www.wikiphoto.net
This is my twin pbase account coegsistent with 'Miljenko'.

Miljenko Devcic
Like?
Test Methodology
In reply to Miljenko Devcic, Apr 9, 2013