Which Sony Nex camera is best for a busy Mum?

Started Apr 8, 2013 | Questions
APhotoNovice
New MemberPosts: 13
Like?
Which Sony Nex camera is best for a busy Mum?
Apr 8, 2013

Hi

My faithful P&S camera (Ricoh) has died on me and as a busy Mum chasing after 2 little 'uns, carrying my (Nikon D40) DSLR around is just not practical - too bulky and no video.... looking at reviews and doing a bit of online research, the Sony Nex cameras have great press and appear to take excellent photos and videos...  but, which one to choose??  I'm looking for a good all rounder really, something that will take DSLR quality pics but is small enough and easy enough to use on the go with little 'uns... indoor and outdoor shots.  I'm a real novice when it comes to photography and have little time to fiddle with the controls much at the moment, but hopefully will be able to explore the camera more as the kids get a little bigger.   I'm currently thinking the NEX 5R is 'the one', but perhaps I'm missing something... this is my first look at the mirrorless cameras and it seems to fit my wish list reasonably well.

Do you think NEX 5R would suit my purposes or would another NEX camera (or other for that matter) be better?

Your thoughts would be much appreciated.

Thanks

C

ANSWER:
This question has not been answered yet.
Nikon D40
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
DtEW
Senior MemberPosts: 1,792Gear list
Like?
Re: Which Sony Nex camera is best for a busy Mum?
In reply to APhotoNovice, Apr 8, 2013

For your purposes you will be better off with a dSLR with PDAF.

If size is a concern, the Canon Rebel SL1 will be the smallest of your dSLR options.  The Sony Alpha A37 will be almost as small, but also a very good choice.

You are also well-advised to invest in fast lenses, i.e. primes and not the kit zoom.

DtEW's gear list:DtEW's gear list