Upgrade from D300 for a poor college student?

Started Apr 7, 2013 | Discussions
Dylan Colon
New MemberPosts: 21
Like?
Upgrade from D300 for a poor college student?
Apr 7, 2013

Hey everyone! I'm currently a college student in the USA, aka, a borderline homeless man.
I'm going on a massive roadtrip this summer to rediscover myself, and I need a camera to document the entire process. I specialize in architecture right now, and I know the ins and outs of RAW manipulation. I've pushed my D300 to the limit, and even ISO 350 is starting to present issues to me in my workflows.
I've been comparing the D300 to the D700, and find it to be a very enticing option. Buying one used would be relatively cheap for an FX body, at around $1.5k. I only have one FX lens though, and that's my 70-200mm VR. Obviously I can't use that for wide angle landscape shots, so I'm going to have to buy another lens. I was looking at the 50mm f/1.8
Now, is the D700 really a proper choice right now? I need something with EXCELLENT low light performance, seeing as backpacking through the deserts of Arizona and New Mexico will present some interesting opportunities. I'll have a tripod of course, but to prevent some long exposure noise I'd like to bump up the ISO a teensy bit. Is the D700 a proper choice for me? 
I have a portfolio here with some of my work, don't be too harsh, I'm only 18: 500px.com/dylancolon

Woah, just realized that a refurbished D600 is about $1.6k. Is the D600 a better choice? I know it has slightly better high ISO performance and more dynamic range, which is really what's important to me... but what's the build quality like?

Nikon D300 Nikon D600 Nikon D700
If you believe there are incorrect tags, please send us this post using our feedback form.
Whois
Contributing MemberPosts: 555
Like?
Re: Upgrade from D300 for a poor college student?
In reply to Dylan Colon, Apr 7, 2013

For EXCELLENT low light performance a used D700 might give you the best value for money at the moment.