My Review 6D and 50/1.2 L Combo

Started Apr 1, 2013 | User reviews
sean lancaster
Veteran MemberPosts: 5,256Gear list
Like?
My Review 6D and 50/1.2 L Combo
Apr 1, 2013

Let me preface this review by noting that I am pretty new to photography. I bought a Sony NEX 5N in Sept. of 2011 and knew nothing about photography. Slowly over the next year I read books on exposure, composition, and light. I was determined to figure out the technical aspects of photography so the equipment wouldn't limit me trying to achieve what my eyes wanted to capture. I find photography so much easier when I don't have to think about how to get the exposure I want and can do it naturally. It wasn't until mid Sept. of 2012 that I finally started getting photos that I liked without relying largely on shooting a lot of shots and hoping to get lucky. I have been looking for an upgrade to my NEX 5N (and Zeiss 24/1.8 lens, which I use 90% of the time). I tried a Sony RX1 and loved the IQ, but the AF was too slow for me. I tried a Nikon D600 and Sigma 50 and really liked that combo, but the Nikon D600 arrived with about 15 spots on the sensor so I sent it back after a week.

This week, I am renting a Canon 6D and 50/1.2 L lens after liking this focal length on the Nikon I tried. I have to send it back to LensRentals tomorrow, but wanted to write my review while I still had the combo. I selected this week because we are spending the week in New Orleans (I am from Michigan).

I largely shoot available light; in fact, I don't ever want to use a flash again. I also enjoy shooting my fast primes wide open. I know that's not for everyone, but I like it. The 6D's ability to focus in low light is outstanding. Much of the time I can point and grab focus even in very dark setting (and I mean very dark).

This scene was darker than it appears and I needed every bit of the 50/1.2 lens

or a street scene like this:

Dancing on Bourbon Street