a580 to a99 - Crazy to upgrade? or go with an a77?

Started Mar 31, 2013 | Discussions
MikeNannie
Regular MemberPosts: 407Gear list
Like?
a580 to a99 - Crazy to upgrade? or go with an a77?
Mar 31, 2013

Okay, been struggling with the new Sony sale all day today and decided to seek some opinions.

I'm primarily a landscape / travel photographer, with some occasional wildlife photography, not pro. I also shoot family photos at gatherings and a once a year family portrait shoot outdoors.

Current equipment:

Camera: a580 (also have a Minolta 7D and a Minolta 800si film camera)

Lenses: CZ 16-80, Sony 35mm 1.8, Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 SP Di USD XLD, Minolta AF 24-85 3.5-4.5

Flash: Minolta HS 5600 Flash (and a 5400 HS non digital flash)

Misc: Gitzo G-1228 MK2 Tripod, RRS BH-40 ball head, flash stand, umbrella, and other misc stuff.

The a580 and 16-80mm lens were huge improvements in image quality over my 2004 Minolta 7D. But, when I bought my 7D, I though the images from it were outstanding using the 24-85 lens. Interesting how your perception changes when you get better technology and lenses   I've never ownd a full frame digital camera. Been a Minolta/Sony shooter since my x-700 back in the early1980s.

I do my post processing with LR and PS 5.
Most disappointing is indoor flash photography. It's always been a struggle using my older Minolta cameras and also with my new a580. I honestly don't know if it's me, or my equipment, but I'm tired of blurry images, or blown out flash shots of family members. I've tried about everything to get better flash shots, with moderate success, but very inconsistent results.

When Sony announced the deals today on the a99 (with flash and grip) and the reduced prices on the a57 and a77, I started to think maybe it's time to upgrade from my 2 yr old a580 (which I do like, a lot).